Take me back home

Take me back home

Wrapped in sheets

From dusty refugee camps

that speak of indignity and displacement.

Take me back home

and hide these scars

witnessing murdered bodies covering the streets we once called home.

In a fight for love

in the name of freedom and democracy

I am lost.

In the steps that lead me to places

not yet determined

As migration plans my days ahead

Like caravans traveling to feature their jewels in souqs

We are bodies for camera lenses to capture

Frail and torn by war and displacement

This refugee card dresses me now

with rations of calorie-counted daily meals

Passing time watching fleets of people

enter an already crowded camp.

Take me back home

to where bare walls can comfort my heart back to its place.

Where kids on the streets would fear not gun shots

and retribution.

Where taking political stances wouldn’t mean taking my life.

This desert sand creeps into everything

Telling me I don’t belong

Not here

Not away from there

As night falls children cries grow louder

To unknown sounds of uncertainty.

Take me back home

my country

to where I am not a statistic

another body count to house and feed.

These white sheets held above me begin to fade

into colors telling me this is more than temporary.

Days, months or years will only leave me more displaced.

So take me back home

and fill me with forget-full-ness.

Erase every memory that distanced me from my roots.

Bring back smiles torn by violence and bloodshed.

Wash down these streets

and rub my eyes from tears that have left me soar

As my heart continues to beat

life-beats of existence

As picture frames are all is left of you

held in time awaiting to return

Back home

Tucked away in covers that smell of cool summer nights

When laughter would surround us till dawn

as the sun would rise we would fall silent to a new day

To sleep in the arms of our mother

watani, blady, my country.